Where there’s A Will, There’s A Way 5: Countess Garsindis of Toulouse

Yes, it’s true that quite a lot of my material comes from the mid-tenth century Midi, but what can I tell you? It’s where the juiciest stuff is. This time in news from the small world of preserved testaments, it’s the mother of previous star of this series Raymond III of Toulouse, Countess Garsindis. Garsindis, you may recall, was the wife of the resident Aquitanian bigwig of the mid-tenth century, Raymond Pons of Toulouse, whose will does not survive. It’s not clear when Garsindis died, precisely, but it’s likely to have been almost thirty years after her husband, around the year 972.

HGL V.126/CXI

In the name of our lord Jesus Christ.

It pleased me, Countess Garsindis, to make this brief codicile, with a mind that is willing and a will that is good, for the remedy of the soul of my man [Raymond] Pons, and the remedy of my soul, and my relatives’, and all the Christian faithful both living and also dead. In the first place, I donate to God and the holy Church of God, and after that to my friends or to people who have sweated in my service.

  1. Therefore, I give to my nephew Count Hugh the church which they call Saint-Symphorien, with the allod which they call Cabanès, excepting Dauquiès, on the condition that he may hold it while he lives; and after his death let it go to God and [the cathedral of] Notre-Dame de Rodez, with tithes and first-fruits, and with the ecclesiastical rights which pertain to that church, without anything held back; and let the allod be divided between Notre-Dame and [the abbey of] Saint-Amans [de Rodez] and [the abbey of] Saint-Sernin [du Monastère] at Rodez.
  2. And immediately after my death, let Notre-Dame and all the abovenamed saints receive the allod of Dauquiès as a pledge for that allod of Cabanès.
  3. And if Count Hugh should stand in the way regarding any of my allods or my substance which I will divide up to any saint whatsoever, or to any of my followers,or carry off this which I bequeath, let the said Cabanès go immediately to Notre-Dame and to Saint-Amans, and to Saint-Sernin.
  4. And I donate my allod which they call Cessenon-sur-Orb to Viscountess Adelaide [of Narbonne] and her sons Ermengaud and Raymond (excepting the allod of Fenouillède, which I gave to Sancho) so that they might hold it with the castle and the churches pertaining thereto; after their deaths, let the said Cessenon go to Lord God and St Mary and St Pons at the monastery of Thomières. 
  5. Let these manses, that is, the allod of Poussines and the allod of Parasol [in Cazouls-lès-Béziers] and the manse of Sévignac le Haut and of Thézan-lès-Béziers go after the death of Adelaide and her sons to Lord God and Saint-Chinian. 
  6. I donate as much as I was seen to have in these places which they call Cuxac-d’Aude, and the church of Notre-Dame with all which I was seen to have and possess there to God and St Mary and Saint-Pons de Thomières.
  7. And let Bishop Frothar [of Cahors] hold the allod which they call Tressan with the church while he lives; and after his death, let it go to Lord God, and [the abbey of] Saint-Benoît-et-Saint-Vincent de Castres.
  8. And I donate my church of Saint-Sauveur de Soulage with half of that allod to God and Saint-Pons de Thomières, where my man rests; and to Saint-Vincent.
  9. And I leave another church Saint-Martin which they call Carmaux, with another half of that allod of the aforesaid allod, to Lord God and [the cathedral of] Sainte-Cécile and [the abbey of] Saint-Salvi of Albi. 
  10. And I donate the church which they call Saint-Martial de la Grèze to Aimeric, with all its ecclesiastical rights and with its tithes, as long as he lives. After his death, let it go to Raymond his son; and after his death, let it go to Lord God and the apostle St Peter and the monastery of Saint-Géraud d’Aurillac; and in their lifetimes, let them each year donate a payout of 5 shillings; and if they are unwilling to do this, let the monks of Saint-Géraud immediately receive the church. 
  11. I also donate to my said follower Aimeric my estate which they call Lez [in Laguépie] for as long as he lives; after his death, let it go to Saint-Géraud. 
  12. I donate the manses of Plaine-Selve to God and Saint-Eugène and Saint-Amarand and Sainte-Carissime [de Vieux]. 
  13. I donate the manses which they call Rectrae Cairae and the estate which they call Mazères and another which they call Pratum Lambertum to God and [the abbey of] Saint-Antonin [de Pamiers]. 
  14. I donate the estate which they call Gerbuxa to Miro, son of Emile; and after his death to his brother, Matfred by name; and after the deaths of both, let it go to [the abbey of] Saint-Michel de Gaillac. 
  15. Let my estate which they call Broze go to my nephew Emile, and after his death let it go to the saints resting at Vieux. 
  16. And I donate my estate which they call Ginestous, and the manses of Puech Méja and the wood which they call Rumi to Lord God and the abbey of Saint-Pierre-et-Saint-Géraud-et-Sainte-Marie d’Aurillac. 
  17. And I donate the estate which they call L’Herm to God and the saints of the abbey of Figeac. 
  18. I donate my allod which they call Vilarem to Frothar; and after his death, let it go to Sainte-Marie-et-Saint-Pons de Thomières.
  19. I donate my allod which they call Gos to Lord God and [the abbey of] Saint-Martin de Villemagne.
  20. I donate my allod of Linairolas to Adrald son of […] while he lives; after his death, let it go to Saint-Chinian. 
  21. I donate my allod which they call Cantoul to Viscount Bernard; and after his death to Sainte-Marie-et-Saint-Pons de Thomières. 
  22. I donate the church which they call Saint-Agnan to Saint-Vincent de Castres; and I donate the castle which they call Bez to Saint-Vincent with the allod of Saint-Agnan – excepting Grimald’s arrangement and one estate from Crousigues which I leave to Bernard, son of that Grimald, on the condition that he might hold it as long as he lives and after his death it should go to the abovesaid place, excepting Mons-Pelatus. Let Ermengaud the cleric, son of Adalbert, then, hold this Mons-Pelatus while he lives; after his death, though, let it go to Saint-Vincent; and let him each year while hie lives feed the clerics of Saint-Vincent on the date of my death; and if he does not do this let it immediately go to Saint-Vincent.
  23. I donate my church of Vindrac-Alayrac to Bernard and Dagobert, the sons of Dagobert; and after their deaths, let it go to Sainte-Cécile and Saint-Salvi; on the condition that each year they should donate to those saints a payout of five shillings; and if they are unwilling to do this let the clerics of Sainte-Cécile and Saint-Salvi immediately receive it in common
  24. Concerning Bernac: I donate my manse held by Benedicta to Archdeacon Witard [of Albi] while he lives; after his death, let it go to those saints. 
  25. I donate the manse which Robert holds to Raymond son of Bernard; and after his death, let it go to Sainte-Cécile and Saint-Salvi. 
  26. I donate the fief which Rostagnus of Bernac holds, meadows and woods and fields – excepting the manses of Benedicta and of Robert – to Aimard and Bernard, sons of Bernard, while they live; and whenever any of them dies, let his part go to Sainte-Cécile and to Saint-Salvi. 
  27. I donate another fief which Pons holds to Raymond son of Bernard, and to another Raymond, and to Atto whilst they live; and whenever any of them dies, let his part go to Saint-Salvi and to Sainte-Cécile.
  28. Let Viscount Isarn hold my church of Barre which they call Notre-Dame and the fief which Isarn himself holds, excepting the manse of Grifoul; after Isarn’s death, let it go to Sainte-Marie-et-Saint-Pons de Thomières, in honour of Notre-Dame du Puy; on the condition that the monks of Thomières should donate to Notre-Dame du Puy, after they have receive the church and the allod, 10 shillings each year; and that Isarn himself, as long as he lives, should each year donate a payout of 5 shillings to Sainte-Marie de Thomières and to the monks; and if they do not, let the monks of Thomières immediately receive the church and the allod. The manse of Grifoul I donate to Lord God and to Saint-Sauveur-et-Sainte-Marie de Vabres.
  29. Regarding the manses which I acquired from Bishop Deusdedit [of Rodez], which are sited in La Val: I donate one to the chapel of Notre-Dame at Albi; and let another manse, which Geoffrey holds in fief in his lifetime, go after his death to Saint-Pierre d’Albi; and I donate the other manses to Acfred and his brother Matfred, sons of Uniger; after their deaths, let it go to Saint-Affrique d’Albi.
  30. And I donate the manse of illa Calme of Veyrières to Bonfill the sacristan; after his death, let it go to Saint-Salvi. Let the clerics of Sainte-Cécile and Saint-Salvi and Sainte-Marcianne [of Albi] hold the vineyards of Veyrières. 
  31. I donate my churches of Saint-Fructeux [de Mirandol] and Saint-Perdoux to Bishop Deusdedit while he lives, with the allod; after his death, let it go to Sainte-Marcianne in common. 
  32. I donate the whole of my allod of Buzeins, which I acquired from Adhemar, with the estate centre and vineyards and orchards and lands and everything which I have there and everything which I acquired from Richer, to [the church of] Sainte-Sigolène de la Grave.
  33. I donate the estate centre  at Lagarrigue, which I acquired from Raino and Theodegar, everything which I have there, to Saint-Michel de Gaillac. 
  34. I donate the vineyards which I acquired from Adhemar, which they call Sarival, to Sainte-Sigolène. 
  35. I donate my churches of Levas with my whole allod which I have there – excepting Roqueredonde-de-Tiendas and Vélieux and Caunas – to [the cathedral of] Saint-Just-et-Saint-Paul de Narbonne and [the cathedral of] Saint-Nazaire and Saint-Aphrodise de Bèziers. 
  36. I donate the estate which they call Roqueredonde to [the cathedral of] Saint-Geniez de Lodève.
  37. I donate Caunas and Vélieux to Raymond son of Gundildis my nephew; after his death, let it go to Saint-Just-et-Saint-Pasteur-et-Saint-Paul [de Narbonne] and Saint-Nazaire de Bèziers.
  38. I donate the vineyards which I acquired from the allod, which are in Zairan, to Saint-Pierre d’Albi. 
  39. I donate my estate of Spars to Sicard son of Deusdedit while he lives; after his death, let it go to the saints of Thomières.
  40. I donate the manse where Godalbert is seen to live to Sicfred; after his death, to his son Rainald; and after his death, to the saints of Thomières. 
  41. I donate the estate which they call la Trivalle to Ingelbert the cleric; after his death, let it go to the saints of Thomières.
  42. I donate Campblanc and Bragos to Barnard, son of Raymond; and after his death, to the saints of Thomières.
  43. I donate the estate which they call Calmejane to God and Saint-Pierre de Burlats.
  44. Let the manse of Ginestous, where Adalbert lives, be Adalric son of Pons’, with the territory; after his death, let it go to Saint-Vincent.
  45. I donate the allod which Raymond gave me, that is, the church of Bessan which they call Saint-Pierre, to Alanberga; after her death, to Saint-Vincent, Calmejane excepted.
  46. I donate the allod of Fraisse and half of its church to Lord God and St Mary and Saint-Pons; the other half I donate to Arnald son of Bernard; after his death, let it go to the saints of Thomières.
  47. I donate the church of Mascle which they call Saint-Étienne to Sancho son of Foramund; and I donate half of the other allod which I have there to Oliba; and the other half to that Sancho; and after their deaths, let it go to Saint-Salvi.
  48. I donate the manse which was Bertland’s to Saint-Salvi in seisin.
  49. Let the allod which I acquired off Carissima go to her; and after her death, to Saint-Salvi.
  50. I donate the manse where Andrew of Milhars lives to Gozlin and his son Humbert; and after their deaths, let it go to Sainte-Cécile.
  51. I leave the church of Saint-Maxime, which I acquired from Bonpar, to Aimeric his son with the allod; and after his death let it go to Sainte-Marcianne.
  52. I leave the manse of Verrières to Archdeacon Vidian; and after his death let it go to Sainte-Cécile.
  53. I donate the vineyards which I have in Assac to Uniger, except one arpent which I leave to Enguerrand; and after his death let it go to the schoolmaster of Sainte-Cécile.
  54. I leave half of my allod which I acquired from Count Raymond, named Orlhonac, to Saint-Sauveur de Figeac; and the other half to [the cathedral of] Saint-Étienne de Cahors. 
  55. I donate the vineyards which I acquired from Stephen in Coujan and everything which I acquired there from Emmo and his wife, to Saint-Pierre in the chapel at Cessenon.
  56. I donate two of the three manses which I acquired from Remigius, which are at Malause, to Amblard; and another to Saint-Benoît d’Avalats; and after Amblard’s death let the other two go to that place.
  57. I donate the vineyards which I have in Assignan to Saint-Pons de Thomières. 
  58. I donate the two farms which I acquired from Bishop Deusdedit, with the estate centre, to Saint-Affrique. 
  59. I donate the manses of Milhars to Abbot Amblard, except that which I gave to Gozlin; after their deaths, let it go to Sainte-Cécile.
  60. Let all my male and female serfs be freed, for the soul of my man, and for my soul, and of all faithful Christians both living and dead.

Let the clerics and monks hold the abovewritten which I leave to the saints in common.

If any malevolent person should presume to take from either the monks or the clerics this which I leave to Lord God and His saints, let God take every good thing from them, and give all bad things to them; and let them have their part with Dathan and Abiron in the inferno, in the present age and in the future.

Let it be done, let it be done.

Amen.

This is the first will we’ve seen from a woman, and it’s worth commenting that it doesn’t appear all that distinct from that of Raymond III. The big difference is that where Raymond was making bequests for the soul of his parents, Garsindis’ concern is for her husband, and for her husband alone. Probably part of the explanation is that Garsindis’ status relied on her marital link to Raymond Pons. There’s a few reasons for this. Partially, Raymond Pons was likely to have been the source of a fair chunk of her property as well as her comital title. Even more, Garsindis was childless, and therefore (as a widow) vulnerable. What she had to offer in the twisty and turny developments of Southern politics after Raymond’s death was a kind of link to the past, and to the legitimacy to be gained from exploiting that link. I’ve already suggested on the blog that Garsindis might have favoured her nephew Count Hugh (the first named beneficiary in this will) over her step-grandson Raymond the Disinherited, and her endorsement may well have gotten him some part of the way to stabilising his shaky legitimacy.

The society we’re looking at in this will is… I wouldn’t say it’s flat exactly, but it’s certainly not characterised by well-theorised forms of domination of greater over lesser elites. What I mean by that is that we can see two roughly parallel forms of status at the very top for lay and clerical elites (count  viscount/ess; bishop  archdeacon), but terms such as miles or vassus are absent. The more local elites we see in this will are simply given names, family affiliations, and in one case (that of Aimeric) the name fidelis, ‘faithful man’ or ‘follower’, basically the most generic term of loyalty Carolingian scribes had access to. Aimeric is particularly interesting, actually, because he’s given two properties both of which are very close to one another. This suggests that none of these figures work over an especially large geographical range; which also suggests that there isn’t much of a mid-level elite between big players like Garsindis or the bishop of Rodez and small fry like Aimeric. This isn’t to say that they don’t exist, simply that they don’t feature prominently in Garsindis’ web of connections.

Compared to the will of Raymond III, easily the closest in time, space and genealogy, there are some differences which might help explain this. By contrast with Raymond’s, this feels like an inner-circle kind of will. You can see on the map that Garsindis is dealing with two main clusters of property, one in the northern Albigeois and the southern Rouergue, and the other between Thomières and the northwestern bit of the Mediterranean littoral. As in Raymond’s case, the main exception is Toulouse, which again should alert us to the fact that we’re probably not dealing with all Garsindis’ property. Similarly in terms of the named individuals and beneficiary institutions, we lack most of the peripheries (beyond one donation to relatively distant Le Puy). Given that I thought Raymond’s peripheral bequests were likely heavily politically charged, I think the absence of similar gifts here shows that, at the least, it’s not politically charged in the same way. This makes a certain amount of sense: unlike Raymond III, Garsindis didn’t have an heir to protect, and the early 970s may have in any case been a period of calm (notably, Count Hugh was probably succeeded via direct father-son succession). This will thus looks like Innenpolitik within the countess’ own retinue and circle of allies, rather than the more Außenpolitik-facing direction of her stepson’s testament.


Leave a comment